Skip to content ↓


Our school governors work as a team to ensure CPS provides the best education for all it's pupils.

Our school governors are responsible for overseeing the management side of CPS ; strategy, policy, budgeting and staffing.

Our school governors are part of the largest volunteer force in the country- there are over a quarter of a million volunteers governing state funded schools in England.

All governors serve a four year term.

Our school governors come from these categories;

  • Parent governors
  • Co-opted governors (from our local community)
  • A staff governor plus the Headteacher
  • A local authority governor (a representative from our local authority)
  • Two foundation governors from the Ember learning trust
  • Associate members (not full governors but they share their expertise at meetings).  No voting rights.

Our school governors play an active role in monitoring and supporting CPS and have links and make visits to subjects and classes.

The Co-Chairs of the Governing body are Brian Howells and Rachael de Vizio, the Vice Chair is Jo Farthing. Please see below for more information about CPS governors.


The Governing Body have a vacancy for a new governor to join the team!

No governor experience needed but a real interest in making “CPS the best school in the area” is essential!

If you would like further details or to talk, please email


Governing Body, as at July 2022: 

Sandra Cunningham

Head Teacher

Ex Officio

Pay Committee

Resources Committee

01 September 2018

Rachael de



Governor / Co Chair of Governors



Headteachers Appraisal Panel

25 July 2019 18 December 2023

Holly Moorhouse

Staff Governor

Not Applicable

13 December 2021

12 December 2021

Brian Howells

Co-opted Governor


Foundation Governor

Co-chair of Governors Sept 2018


Headteachers Appraisal  Panel

Swimming Pool Project Team

3 May 2007

25 November 2014

26 September 2018

(status change)

24 November 2018


20 June 2022

Ruth Kennard

Parent Governor

Early Years, Computing

14 January 2020

13 January 2024

Jo Farthing Co-opted Governor

Vice Chair

Headteacher Appraisal Panel

Health & Safety

24 November 2018 20 November 2022
Clive Thompson Co-opted Governor Resources committee 23 September 2020
Louisa Thacker Parent Governor FGB 22 February 2021
Meryl White LA Governor Chair of Resources committee 08 December 2021
Peter Adams Co-opted Governor Resources committee 01 December 2021
John Thompson Co-opted Governor

SEND, Looked after Children,


01 December 2021